Incumbents Re-Elected to San Mateo City Council

Incumbents appeared to win a majority of the city council races throughout San Mateo County on Tuesday.

In city council elections across San Mateo County, incumbents appeared to be winning re-election in the majority of local races, according to Tuesday night's preliminary election results.

In San Mateo, where three city council seats were being contested by five candidates, incumbents David Lim and Robert Ross appeared to win re-election with 27 percent and 23 percent of the vote respectively, according to initial results.

Joe Goethals led the race for a third seat with 23 percent of the vote.

Six candidates in Redwood City were vying for three available seats, and incumbents Jeff Gee and John Seybert appeared to win re-election with 25 percent and 19 percent of the vote respectively, according to preliminary results. Diane Howard appeared to win a third seat with 22 percent of the vote.

Incumbent South San Francisco city councilwoman Karyl Matsumoto easily won a two-year council term with 59 percent of the vote, according to first results.

In the race for three available full-term seats, South San Francisco incumbents Mark Addiego and Pradeep Gupta led a field of eight candidates with 20 percent and 16 percent of the vote respectively, according to returns. Liza Normandy was likely to win a third seat with around 18 percent of the vote. 

In San Carlos, Mayor Bob Grassilli and incumbent Matt Grocott led the race of six candidates vying for three city council seats, according to preliminary results.

City councilwoman Karen Clapper lost her bid for re-election garnering 16 percent of the vote, while Cameron Johnson picked up a third San Carlos seat with 24 percent, according to results.

San Bruno city councilmen Rico Medina and Ken Ibarra easily won re-election with 33 percent and 29 percent respectively, according to preliminary returns.

In Burlingame, where nine candidates were competing for three available seats, city council members Ann Keighran and Michael Brownrigg appeared to win re-election by a wide margin. The contest for a third seat was too close to call, as of Tuesday night.

Belmont city councilman Warren Lieberman appeared to win re-election to one of three available seats, and newcomers Eric Reed and Charles Stone led the race for the other two, according to results.

Brisbane city council members W. Clarke Conway and Cliff Lentz won re-election with 30 percent and 26 percent of the vote, respectively, and Lori Liu won the third available seat with 33 percent, according to elections results.

Millbrae city councilwoman Anne Oliva won re-election to one of two available seats with 31 percent of the vote, and Reuben Holober won the second seat with 29 percent.

In Portola Valley, where three town council seats were contested by four candidates, incumbents F. John Richards and Maryann Moise Derwin easily won re-election. A third seat was won by Craig Hughes, according to preliminary results.

One available town council seat in Atherton was won by Rick Degolia, who garnered 63 percent of the vote among three candidates.

Copyright © 2013 by Bay City News, Inc. -- Republication, Rebroadcast or any other Reuse without the express written consent of Bay City News, Inc. is prohibited.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »